Provencial tian

My mom sent me this recipe and I thought “what?  No basil or oregano?  That’s boring.”  But I followed the recipe, except I ended up using a 9×13 dish and pretty much just stacking the vegetables since I was in such a hurry AND I didn’t take the recipe to heart and use small vegetables.  I had quite a large eggplant & squash!

This simple combination was delicious and a perfect way to use summer veggies.  I served it over my favorite blend of “grains” from Trader Joe’s and got away with a vegeterian night since my husband was at a baseball game ($1 hotdog night!)

What is a Provencial tian? “A simple, classic French dish that has been made in some form since the Middle Ages, when cooks filled pots with layers of vegetables and took them to a communal village oven to bake.”

until we have communal village ovens…preheat your personal oven to 400.
extra virgin olive oil
1 medium yellow squash, cut crosswise into thin slices
1 med. zucchini-cut crosswise into thin slices
1 small onion, sliced thin
1 small eggplant-peeled and cut into slices
1 roma tomato-thin slices
sea salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 c freshly grated parmesan cheese

Drizzle oil in the bottom of deep dish pie plate.

Arrange vegetable slices creating an alternating, overlapping pattern in several concentric circles, drizzling a little of the oil between the slices. season with salt and pepper to taste, then sprinkle cheese on top.

Roast for 30 min or until vegetables are tender and cheese has melted.

1 Comment

Filed under Main Dishes, Sides

One response to “Provencial tian

  1. cathy

    oops! I did add basil:)

Leave a comment